Program on the Camels of Central Texas during the Civil War
On April 10, 2017 our speaker will be Carol Hanson telling of the U.S. Army’s “Camel Experiment”.
During the 1850’s dozens of camels were brought to central Texas. It’s a fascinating story with countless historic developments.
The program will begin 7 p.m. in the Museum at 607 Cedar Street. The public is welcome. For more information please call 214-769-8425.
See and hear the story of Cedar Hill from its early 1840’s origin in the southwest corner of what soon became Dallas County. The exhibit highlights how citizens worked together developing the community and overcoming tragedies.
Developed and installed by the Cedar Hill Historical Society, the exhibit will run from October 26, 2014 through January 25, 2015.
Among the stories featured are the devastating tornado of 1856, the establishment of the railroad in 1882, and unique tales of bank robberies by part of Bonnie & Clyde’s gang during the 1930’s. Also exhibited are some fossils of a rare 60’ swimming sea lizard found by a Cedar Hill farmer in 1933.
The exhibit is on the first floor of the beautifully restored Old Red Courthouse which was constructed in 1892 at 100 S. Houston Street.
Admission to the 1700 square foot gallery is $3. A discount voucher can be purchased for parking under the building for an additional $4. The special exhibit is part of Your Dallas, a series of exhibits coordinated through the Old Red Museum of Dallas County.
Visit the link below for more information.